ReCaged: Forum
Help about git - Printable Version

+- ReCaged: Forum (https://forum.recaged.net)
+-- Forum: General (https://forum.recaged.net/forum-9.html)
+--- Forum: The Pits (https://forum.recaged.net/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Help about git (/thread-1610.html)

Help about git - potterman28wxcv - 2014-03-28

When I'll have less work to do at school, I'll start looking at the source code of Recaged. I know how to copy a git repository to my laptop, as well as some basics like looking history, git add, git commit -a, git push, git pull, but I have no experience at all at doing it with a huge project like yours.
So I'd like to know.. Are you using any branchs or that kind of things ? (I know it exists)

EDIT : Ok you aren't using any. It seems that Mats Wahlberg did all the work. Are you guys able to see you outside Internet I guess ? It's a strange thing there is only one contributor. Anyway, the general question is : How are you exactly working ? :p

Anyway, it's not urgent, I have to update my knowledge on C++ (on classes and heritance etc.. I've done a bit of C++, but I've done a lot more in C language)

By the way : the website adress isn't updated in the Readme Smile

RE: Help about git - Slinger - 2014-03-30

Mats, yes that's me. Smile

There are a lot of branches. You might not see them because they are not local (you cloned the repo). There should be some way of listing and pulling the remote branches from the gui, but I'm afraid I can't be of much help here. But if you are using the command line: "git branch -a" will show you all branches.

How I'm working: the Master branch is rolling-release. I commit smaller changes here directly (things I know will not break things). And then I use branches for larger changes. For instance "minor/autoconf_and_nsis" is for the next _minor_ update (0.7.1), but "major/lua" is earliest for the next _major_ (0.8.0).